It’s My Depression

Disintegrate the life from within
It destroyed even my kin
It crawls inside of my mind
I see darkness I am blind
It took everything away
It took the sanity and the joy

This monster can not be swayed
I became its toy
It left me with nothing
It left me feeling empty

I am a husk the shell is hollow
I am worse off than when I was found
It has forced its life bound
It hides deep inside
Coming forth like a riptide
To surface when bored

There’s no Ripchord
No choice yet to follow
I know it will never be gone
No matter what medication
It’s using my mind as a vacation

It waits for a perfect time to attack
to take all that I have worked to gain back
I hear it’s claws scratching there
Anger, anxiety, and stress feed it
Yet we dare not speak of the thing

Nothing just a blank stare
It became the mind king
It now rules this space
The monster has no face

It can shift into anyone
I feel as though my life is done
People don’t get the impression
This monster is my depression.

©2021 By M. Robbins

Leave a comment